Aquinas on Humility

Book report:

After a fair study of the works of Thomas Aquinas the following is a mash-up of what I harvested. To get the full text as Aquinas wrote it google “summa iia iiae 141

Article 6…

Objection 3. Further, Anselm gives seven degrees of humility:

1. “to acknowledge oneself contemptible”

2. “to grieve for this”

3. “to confess it”

4. “to convince others of this, that is to wish them to believe it”

5. “to bear patiently that this be said of us”

6. “to suffer oneself to be treated with contempt”

7. “to love being thus treated.”

[Food for thought]





(buried beneath scrolls)

This landing page is designed to keep traffic from wandering very far into the blog. As I mention to people that I direct to, this is a personal site. I tell everyone that they will probably land on something that does not relate to why they came [here].


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *